阿莫林集团 - AMORIM & IRMÃOS - 软木塞业务部

拥有丰富软木生产经验

在阿莫林,软木塞的地位无人能及。如此殊荣不仅来自其独特的天然属性,更来自一支全力以赴,力图为世界每个细分市场,制造最理想软木塞的优秀团队。

阿莫林是全球最大的软木塞生产和供应商,也是全球主要葡萄酒制造商所信赖的合作伙伴。阿莫林拥有近150年的悠久历史和领先的技术创新,提供优质产品的信心保证。

阿莫林成立于1870年,起初是一家小型的软木塞加工厂,地处葡萄酒产区腹地。因紧邻葡萄酒制造商,这一地理优势很快便帮助阿莫林与客户建立起合作关系,预测客户需求,并迅速满足客户所提要求。如今阿莫林已迎来家族第四代管理层,“紧邻葡萄酒制造商”依旧是其巩固行业领先地位的重要战略。

阿莫林这一品牌在其一百多年的发展史中,又逐渐成立了数十家新公司,这些公司于最近合并为阿莫林软木塞业务部。该业务部在全球主要葡萄酒生产国设有子公司,分布范围包括历史悠久的欧洲大陆市场及南非、澳大利亚以及南美的新兴市场。阿莫林成为顶级葡萄酒制造商的一个标杆, 其客户遍布82个国家数量超过15,000位,

领袖登场

早在António Alves de Amorim成立阿莫林时,公司就把“放眼未来”作为企业的愿景,为知名的波特酒生产商生产软木塞。 19世纪末期,酿酒业和软木塞行业开始相互影响,一起成长,而阿莫林也已展露出向前发展取得更大成功的志向。20世纪初,国际贸易蓬勃发展,软木塞已经成为一种不可多得的显贵产品,且当时顶级酿酒厂强制要求其葡萄酒必须使用软木塞。为满足市场需求,Amorim家族成立了一个专门的车间。

20世纪20年代,葡萄牙软木塞出口量达到一个前所未有的高峰,家族第二代掌门人为公司以及整个行业带来了一种新的活力:开办了业内第一家工厂,使公司成为行业的标杆企业。1930年,阿莫林成为葡萄牙北部最大的软木塞生产商。

第二次世界大战期间虽然经济受影响,软木塞市场依旧保持增长,战争结束也为经济复苏营造了一个良好的环境。与此同时,Amorim家族第三代管理层开始登场,为软木塞行业引入革命性巨变。1950年, Américo Amorim进军东欧国家,成为面向东欧市场的最大葡萄牙出口商。

image_1image_2image_3image_4image_5image_6

业务垂直化方针

1962年,无论在数量还是质量上,葡萄牙都已成为全球最大的软木(原材料)生产国其中80%的软木都未经加工便直接出口。阿莫林此时已经开始开辟一个更广阔且更高端的市场,位列软木塞生产和出口领域的全球第一,公司制定了一个垂直化战略。随着软木塞产量的显著增长,阿莫林开始充分利用其副产品,并进入一个新的业务领域——合成塞。Amorim家族于1963年创建阿莫林集团,迈出成立一个业务范围更广泛的新公司的第一步。

阿莫林在葡萄牙南部、西班牙、摩洛哥和突尼斯开始成立新公司,以便整合从采购原材料到售后服务的业务流程。20世纪70年代,公司又开始进军其他市场,不仅带动了在国际市场上的显著增长,又进一步巩固了其市场领袖的地位。公司也迎来更大的挑战。

另辟蹊径:勇于创新

自20世纪80年代,阿莫林就已经开始生产所有与软木有关的产品。凭借这种生产实力,在全球酿酒业迅速发展的大气候下,阿莫林对研发投入了前所未有的力度。目标很明确:通过重视研发和质量控制,不断提高技术水准,加强策略,最终脱颖而出。

阿莫林中央实验室由此而诞生,该实验室面向公司所有业务层面,专门从事新产品研发以及创新型工艺和技术的实施。为不断提高产品质量,阿莫林率先实施并遵循了严格的国际质量控制标准。

阿莫林应用新型的洗涤和处理技术、监控流程,并严格定义了技术规范,让公司有能力充分满足市场需求。这是阿莫林维护和增进与客户之间基于信赖的合作关系,并将业务拓展至全球的首要步骤。

20世纪90年代,阿莫林建立起一个庞大的销售网络,在全球最重要的葡萄酒市场--法国、意大利、西班牙、澳大利亚、美国、阿根廷和智利,设立分支机构。

21世纪来临之际,阿莫林成立了一个最先进的软木处理技术中心,该中心处理了将近一半的葡萄牙产软木原材料,并为Twin Top®软木塞制作双圆片。事实证明,紧邻采购商不仅是个成功的战略,还有助提升技术。CONVEX水煮系统的启用革新软木处理工艺。阿莫林不仅实现了对原材料的质量控制,还在国际上提升了软木塞产业的可信度。

迈向可持续发展

从2001年开始,Amorim家族第四代管理层开始执掌公司,并树立了公司在可持续性发展领域的领导地位。在António Rios Amorim的管理下,公司开展了一项长期项目,将可持续性理念贯彻至所有业务领域。基于这样的策略,阿莫林成为软木塞行业第一家发布可持续性报告的公司。于2007年发布的第一期报告,受到了Corporate Register(世界最著名企业社会责任报告收集网站)的高度评价,在“公开度和诚实度”分类中被其评为全球最好的报告之一,在“相关性及重要性”分类中被列为前六甲。同年,阿莫林加入BCSD(可持续发展工商理事会),次年又加入伊比利亚森林贸易网络,成为Earth Condominium(地球共管,一个号召全球相互合作共同关爱地球资源的环保组织)和Global Forest & Trade Network(全球森林贸易网络)的首位商业合作伙伴。

同样在可持续发展领域,阿莫林还采取了其它一些开创性举措,例如启动Green Cork(绿色软木塞)回收项目、成立全球首家软木塞回收机构,以及展开Save Miguel(拯救米盖尔)活动,这些社会性活动旨在让人们意识到,使用软木产品对经济、环保和社会都大有益处。

今天,阿莫林是一家对环境负责、业务范围广泛及不断创新的公司。它不仅利用软木制造瓶塞等传统的高附加值产品,还生产技术含量高、研发投入大的高端产品。丰富的高品质产品组合能满足众多严谨苛刻客户的需求,例如汽车业、航空业、建筑业或酿酒业。2012年,阿莫林在建筑领域获得“The Seal of Sustainability ”大奖。

Amorim Universe - Amorim & Irmãos – Cork Stoppers Business Unit

Company expertise for a unique product

At Amorim, the cork stopper has an exclusive status. Not just because of its unique natural characteristics, but also because it has a team which is wholly devoted to the manufacture of the ideal stopper for each market segment anywhere in the world.

Amorim is the largest producer and supplier of cork stoppers worldwide and in whom the main wine producers place their trust. The experience of around a century and a half of activity and a development/innovation standing provide a unique guarantee of confidence in the supply of quality products.

The company began as a small cork stopper factory, established in 1870 in the heart of the Port wine region. The proximity of the wine producers soon contributed to creating business relationships, anticipating client needs and swiftly meeting their requests. Four generations later, this continues to be the strategy which consolidates the company's leadership in the sector.

The Amorim name and centuries of experience have generated dozens of new companies which currently comprise Corticeira Amorim's Cork Stoppers Business Unit. It has subsidiaries in key wine producing countries, from the old European continent to the new markets in South Africa, Australia and South America. It sells to over 15,000 active clients in 82 countries and is a benchmark among the most renowned wine producers.

The arrival of a leader

The vision of the future has been one of the company's inherent characteristics since it was founded by António Alves de Amorim, as the producer of cork stoppers for the renowned Port Wine. At that time, at the end of the 19th century, the wine and cork industries were beginning to evolve driven forward by each other and Amorim was already demonstrating its determination to succeed. At the start of the 20th century, which was a time of great excitement for international trade, cork stoppers were already considered a luxury product and compulsory requirement for wines from the best wineries at the time and the Amorim family opened a workshop to meet demand.

In the 1920s, when the export of national cork stoppers reached unexpected levels, the second generation of the family brought new momentum to the company and the activity: it opened the group's first factory and made the company a benchmark. In 1930, Amorim was the largest manufacturer of cork stoppers in the North of Portugal.

Despite the setbacks of World War II, the cork market continued to grow and the end of the war created a favourable climate for economic recovery. That time coincided with the arrival of the third generation which introduced a radical change to the cork industry. In 1950, the start of a journey through the countries of Eastern Europe, which Américo Amorim embarked on, would transform the company into the largest Portuguese exporter to Eastern Europe.

image_1image_2image_3image_4image_5image_6

The verticalisation of the business

In 1962, Portugal was consolidating its position as the world's largest producer of cork (raw material), in terms of quantity and quality, despite 80% of production being exported without being processed. Already geared towards a broader and more demanding market, Amorim defined a verticalisation strategy with the aim of achieving world leadership in the production and export of cork products. A significant increase in the production of cork stoppers led Amorim to make use of the by-products and to the arrival of a new area of business - agglomerates. It would be the first step towards the creation of a more comprehensive company, Corticeira Amorim, which was founded in 1963.

The goal to integrate all stages of the process, from the purchase of raw materials to after-sales service, led to the creation of new companies in Southern Portugal, Spain, Morocco and Tunisia. In the 1970s, the company's expansion into other markets took place, which led to increased growth at international level and consolidated its position as market leader. The challenge took on a new dimension.

A new approach: To innovate

In the 1980s, Amorim was already producing all cork-related products. This ability, allied with the swift growth of the world wine industry, fostered unprecedented investment in R&D. The objective was clear: To distinguish itself by strengthening its policies and skills in research and quality control.

This led to the appearance of the Central Laboratory, which is transversal to all company activity and specialises in creating new products and implementing innovative processes and technology. With the objective of improving what the company has to offer, strict international quality control standards - never applied before in the cork industry - are implemented and complied with.

Solutions such as the implementation of new washing and treatment techniques, process control and the definition of technical specifications, to name a few, give the company an unprecedented ability to meet market needs. It was the starting point to ensure an increasing and continuous relationship with clients based on trust and to develop the business all over the world.

In the 1990s, Amorim established a consistent distribution network with the establishment of companies in the world's most important wine markets: France, Italy, Spain, Australia, USA, Argentina and Chile.

With the 21st century just around the corner, the company opened the most advanced technological centre for processing cork, which processes approximately half of the raw material produced in Portugal and manufactures the disks for Twin Top® stoppers. The geographical proximity to the purchasing unit has proved to be a successful strategy and paves the way for technological advancement. The implementation of the CONVEX boiling system thus emerges as a revolution in the treatment of cork. Amorim not only enables the qualitative control of the raw material, but gives credibility to the cork industry at international level.

Moving towards sustainable development

With the fourth generation of the family running the company since 2001, Amorim also established itself as the leader in sustainable development. Under the management of António Rios Amorim, the company developed a long-term project which integrated the concept of sustainability into all its operations. In this context, it is the first company in the sector to publish a sustainability report. The first edition, in 2007, was awarded by the Corporate Register as one of the best reports in the world in the Openness and Honesty category and among the best six in the Relevance and Materiality category. During the same year, Amorim joined the BCSD – Business Council for Sustainable Development and the following year the Forest and Trade Iberian Network, becoming the first commercial partner of the Condominium of the Earth and Global Forest & Trade Network, which aims to care for the planet in an integrated manner.

Also in this regard, other pioneering initiatives arose, such as the launch of the recycling programme of Green Cork stoppers, the inauguration of the first global cork stopper recycling facility and the Save Miguel campaign, developed on social networks with the aim of raising the awareness of the community to the economic, environmental and social benefits of using cork products.

Today, Amorim is an innovative company, which is environmentally responsible and comprehensive. It develops cork applications not only on traditional added-value products, such as cork stoppers, but also products which incorporate the advanced technology in manufacturing and high standards of R&D. A vast high quality portfolio meets the needs of a variety of discerning clients such as those from the car industry, aeronautics, the construction industry - where Amorim was distinguished in 2012 with the seal of sustainability -, or the wine industry.