天然软木塞 - 软木与葡萄酒

天生一对

软木塞与生俱来的特质,与葡萄酒相得益彰,赋予葡萄酒纯正的口感,并提升酒品价值。 软木与葡萄酒一样天然和高贵,葡萄酒业带动了软木的生产,而具有效密封功能的软木塞有助优质葡萄酒陈酿。 几个世纪以来,这两个产业一直携手并进。

唐·皮耶尔·培里侬(Dom Pierre Pérignon )在 17 世纪中叶决定用软木塞取代木塞,进而引发了葡萄酒行业的空前变革。这位法国的修道士因其香槟而闻名,他寻求一种方法来取代当时使用的瓶塞。当时的瓶塞用麻布包裹,浸泡在橄榄油里,但是却无法起到有效的密封作用,在保存葡萄酒的效果上不尽人意,而且总是会弹出来。 有鉴于此,唐·皮耶尔·培里侬提出以软木为解决方案。

庞贝城出土的双耳土罐证实了早在数千年前,古埃及人就已开始使用软木,然后传至希腊和罗马。然而,正是由于唐·皮耶尔·培里侬的推动,葡萄酒行业获得了快速发展,也带动软木塞的使用。 在接下来的世纪里,在葡萄牙,葡萄酒首次被存在圆柱形的玻璃瓶中陈酿。如今,葡萄牙已成为世界软木和葡萄酒的中心。因此可以说,软木塞和葡萄酒瓶的同步发展缔造了现代葡萄酒产业。 

浑然天成的阀门

气泡葡萄酒一直青睐软木塞,而软木塞也令这款驰名全球的酒品锦上添花,受到市场钟爱。 软木具有质轻、易压缩、防水、耐磨性,隔热保温, 不腐蚀以及弹性恢复等天然特性,而这些也使其成为不可比拟的瓶塞。软木塞能保护葡萄酒不受外界不断变化温度的影响,也能避免葡萄酒变质。人们在波罗的海的沉船中发现了168 瓶香槟,这些香槟在海底沉睡了200多年却依旧封存完好。这也说明了软木塞在世界范围内,保存葡萄酒和香槟的独特性能。

法国波尔多大学的研究表明,软木正以独特的方式促进葡萄酒的陈酿。 秘密就是软木的复杂结构,这是现代科技无法匹及的。每个软木塞都是一个浑然天成的阀门,由大约 8 亿个微小的木栓细胞(每立方厘米近 4,000 万个细胞)构成,并注满了类似于空气的混合气体。被压缩时,软木塞就像一个软垫,不断尝试恢复其原来的形状和大小,从而能够插入并密封瓶颈。而其空气囊允许少量的氧气在密封后渗透到酒瓶里,帮助葡萄酒陈酿。

“我认为软木塞是封装葡萄酒的理想选择。由栓皮栎制成的软木是大自然给予人类的一项馈赠。”


智利Concha y Toro酒庄董事长
Alfonso Larrain

优越与品位

世上顶级的葡萄酒一直使用软木塞。Ruinart de Reims 和 Moët et Chandon等著名的葡萄酒制造商自18 世纪以来便使用软木塞封装其出产的香槟。现在,以阿莫林为代表的生产商整合专业知识,推陈出新,将高端产品带入快消葡萄酒和烈酒领域,创造面向特定细分市场的产品。例如,全球最昂贵的威士忌 Dalmore Trinitas 64 和历史最悠久的 Mortlach(拥有70 年的历史,由 Gordon & MacPhail 出产),都采用阿莫林软木塞进行封装。

有一段时间,软木塞曾失去部分市场份额。随后,全球葡萄酒消费量扩大以及酿酒师与消费者对软木塞信心的增加,皆推动软木使用率的上升,以美国和一些新兴市场例如中国、俄罗斯和其他非软木生产国尤为甚。刺激选用软木塞的一大因素,是对优质产品的追求以及对软木认同的感性情怀,这主要是因为软木是与高品质酒相关联。

多个调查和市场研究表明,越来越多的消费者和葡萄酒制造商都选择软木塞的另一个原因是其天然与环保。他们看重软木塞与葡萄酒的传统关联,以及他们相辅相成一同营造的辉煌。

Natural Cork - Cork and Wine

Inseparable by nature

The cork stopper has unique innate qualities, which interact beneficially with wine. It contributes to developing its character, gives it authenticity and brings it value. Cork, which is just as natural and noble as wine, benefits from the production of wine and reciprocates with premium performance stoppers. Both industries have grown together over the centuries.

When Dom Pierre Pérignon decided to swap the wooden stoppers in use in the mid-17th century for cork stoppers, he caused an unprecedented change of events in the wine industry. The French monk, who would become famous for his champagne, sought an alternative to the stoppers used at the time, which were wrapped in hemp soaked in olive oil, failed to provide an effective seal, played a dubious role in the preservation of wine and were always popping out. The solution was cork.

Thousand of years before, the Egyptians had already used cork, followed by the Greeks and Romans, as amphorae discovered in Pompeii bear witness. It was, however, the driving force of Dom Pérignon that paved the way for the use of cork associated with the fast growth of the wine industry. In Portugal, during the following century, where today the centre of the cork and Port Wine industries is found, wine was allowed to age in glass cylindrical bottles for the first time. Thus, it was the simultaneous development of cork stoppers and wine bottles which made the modern wine industry possible.

A sophisticated natural valve

It is believed that just as sparkling wines favour the use of cork, it also played a decisive role in affirming this famous wine. Its natural characteristics - light, easy to compress, impermeable, resistant to moisture and rot, and its resilience - make it an inimitable stopper. It protects wine from variations in temperature and prevents it from deteriorating over time. The discovery of a collection of 168 bottles of champagne in perfect condition, shipwrecked in the Baltic Sea around two hundred years ago, bears witness to the cork stopper's unique ability to preserve wines and champagnes all over the world.

Research carried out by the University of Bordeaux suggests that cork contributes in a unique way to the development of wine. The secret is a complex structure, which technology is yet to replicate. Each cork stopper is a sophisticated natural valve, made up of around 800 million tiny cells of suberin (almost 40 million cells per cubic centimetre), filled with an air-like gas.

When compressed, they behave like a cushion and constantly try to return to their original shape and size, thus adapting to the bottleneck and maintaining a tight seal. It is the air cells that allow a tiny amount of oxygen to permeate the bottle after it has been sealed, which has a beneficial impact on the development of the wine.

«I am certain that cork is the perfect option to seal a bottle of wine. It is a noble and reliable gift from nature.»


Alfonso Larrain
President, Concha y Toro, Chile

Premium and aspirational factor

The world's finest wines have always used cork stoppers. Even in the case of champagnes, prestigious wine producers such as Ruinart de Reims and Moët et Chandon, have used them since the 18th century. Currently, producers such as Amorim apply their know-how to the development of new and better solutions which allow the use of a premium product to be broadened to fast consumption wines and spirits, creating products geared towards specific segments. For example, the most expensive whisky in the world, the Dalmore Trinitas 64, and the oldest, the Mortlach 70 years old, by Gordon & MacPhail, are sealed with Amorim cork stoppers.

After a period where some losses in the market share for cork stoppers were seen, the increase in global wine consumption and the confidence of oenologists and consumers have contributed to further growth, particularly in the USA and in some emerging markets such as China, Russia and other non-cork producing countries. Among the reasons which motivate the choice of the cork stopper is the growing perception of the premium and aspirational factors - it is associated with good or excellent quality wines.

Several surveys and market research show that both consumers and wine producers increasingly elect cork also because it is a natural and environment friendly product. They value its traditional association with wine and the fact that it enables it to develop in all its splendour.