天然软木塞 - 原材料与生产流程

天生完美

软木是自然界最奇特的产品之一,采剥自栓皮栎的树皮。 这种原材料可谓完美无瑕,没有任何一种工业技术或科技能够复制它。 只有这种材料能够制作出要求苛刻且高度精密的封装材料——软木塞。

软木是栓皮栎树的树皮,每隔九年采剥一次,一般在五月和八月之间,这期间树木处于生长最快速的阶段,更容易在不损坏树干的情况下剥离。 熟练的工人用一把斧头精准地把树皮剥离。 

拂晓时,工人在栓皮栎林挥舞斧头的声音已经响起。 大块的软木从鼓鼓的大树皮上取下,它非常轻,还带着树的汁液,非常湿润。每棵栓皮栎树平均可以采剥40至60公斤软木。 较薄的树皮用于加工技术软木塞或其他用途。 只有更厚、更软、质量最佳的树皮被制成最引人注目的瓶塞 ——天然软木塞,它们要首先在工厂的院子中放置六个月,然后采用先进的工艺处理,使之成为封装顶级葡萄酒的首选。

采剥软木的工人可能感觉这是一种与众不同的原材料, 尽管如此,也许他们还未觉察到其惊人的内在特性。 软木由无数细小蜂窝状软木脂细胞组成,当中充满了空气。 这使其非常轻,易于压缩,防水和不透气,防潮隔音,并且具有弹性。它具有“弹性记忆”,使其能够适应各种温度和压力。它耐燃、耐磨损并且不吸附灰尘。它是人类可以使用的最通用的材料之一。另外,它是纯天然的、可降解、可再生且可回收。

数个世纪承传的经验

采剥软木皮会产生干燥的噪音,使人们联想起关门或开门时轻轻的吱吱声,以及从瓶颈中取出瓶塞的声音。空气中弥漫着一种特殊的香气,略带甜味,然后工人走向下一棵树,周而复始地重复这一流程。 因为需要精确度、季节性和经验,它是世界上收入最高的农业工作。 

自从规模化生产软木塞用作葡萄酒封装材料以来,生产和处理软木塞的技术已突飞猛进,但手工采剥的方法一直沿用至今,历久不衰。

时间打造高贵产品

刚刚被剥皮的树干是橙色,树木呈现出一种奇妙而不寻常的外观,这一景象只能在栓皮栎林中看到,是一些地中海国家,例如 葡萄牙、西班牙、意大利、法国、摩洛哥、突尼斯和阿尔及利亚的独特风景。

不砍伐树木,使其成为软木行业和环保之间保持可持续发展和相互依存关系的一个最好的例子。从破土而出到枝繁叶茂,栓皮栎的树干上都用白色油漆标记一个数字,表示软木采剥的年份。在接下来的九年里,树皮将继续重新生长,直到它们再被采剥。

采收需要等到树木长到25年后,才能进行第一次采剥,只有第三次采剥时,软木皮才会达到制作软木塞所需的高质量标准。前两次采剥的原材料用于隔热隔音材料、地板和其他用途。这意味着要制成高质量的软木塞,每棵栓皮栎树龄需达40年以上。它是一种不疾不徐的树,寿命可以达到200年。在它的生命周期中,一棵栓皮栎树大约可以被采收17次,当然有极少数情况下可超过这一目标。

软木皮的用途

大卡车将软木从栓皮栎树林运至工厂的院子里,在那里放置六个月,使它状态变稳定,水分均匀。每批树皮都会加上标签并登记,以便追溯每个批次的原产地——可追溯性对于确保质量非常重要,也是保持产销监管链完整性的一个关键因素,同时也是获得森林管理委员会(FSC®)认证的必要条件。

软木皮堆放在大面积混凝土上的不锈钢板架上,有一点点倾角。这样可防止软木与地面接触,从而减少了微生物污染。采用这种堆放方式可以最大程度地排水和保持空气流通。最新送来的软木放在院子中最显眼处。它的颜色更加鲜艳,旁边便是数吨放置时间更长,略带灰色的软木皮,。

存放期结束后,将对软木皮进行挑选。 由经验丰富的工人选择高质量的软木生产瓶塞。能冲出一个瓶塞的高度的厚树皮将用作生产天然软木塞。薄树皮将制成软木圆片,用于技术软木塞、Twin Top(双圆片)软木塞和香槟软木塞。

第一次和第二次采剥的软木仍没有达到制作瓶塞所需的质量标准,它们与从树干底部采剥的软木都将被研磨,加工的产品被广泛使用在建筑、航空、时尚服饰和设计等众多领域。 

最高水平的保护和处理

从软木皮到最终成品,工人会因应不同种类的软木塞,采用各不相同的工序。但是,生产各类软木塞的树皮均采用相同的防护和处理工序已提高其质量。

软木皮在由不锈钢密封并带过滤功能的锅中蒸煮。其目的是去除微孔中嵌入的有机物,并使软木达到可供处理的理想湿度。阿莫林采用特别的蒸煮工艺,称为CONVEX,它还可以通过沸水去除挥发性有机化合物。

每批重量达两吨的软木皮在先进技术的处理锅中蒸煮一个小时。该工艺使软木细胞的内部扩张,改善内部结构并有助于减少菌群。经过蒸煮后的软木皮体积约增加了20%。除了变得更厚以外,它们在结构上更加规则并更容易处理。但是,它们太潮湿,因此必须堆放在具有良好通风条件的无菌区域中,使其特性稳定。两天后,它们便可以进行加工。以往工人 采用老工艺需要三周的时间完成这个流程,与之相比,现在CONVEX系统的效率具有明显的优势。

工人首先修整软木皮的边缘边角, 然后进行初部的评估。他们根据软木皮的厚度、小孔的数量和外观进行质量分拣。那些有缺陷的软木皮将被研磨,并用于其他产品。虽然只有质量良好的软木皮经过挑选制作软木塞,但其他软木也没有浪费。

天然软木塞

要制作顶级 、天然 的软木塞,树皮首先被切割为条状,并通过机器冲压,提取圆柱形的瓶塞。 每个圆柱形就是一个完整的瓶塞,通过高度精确的手工或半自动工艺加工而成。熟练工人每天最多可以冲压两万个瓶塞。手动冲压工艺可保证最大程度的质量一致性,因为每个工人都可以选择软木条的最佳部分。这样可以在数量和质量之间达到理想的平衡。

软木塞通过机械分拣后,再由先进的计算机拍摄,根据视觉质量将其进行分拣。只有约25%的软木被用作生产天然瓶塞。余料用于生产软木颗粒,并用作生产技术软木塞。 

在冲压工艺后,每个批次都抽取具有代表性数量的样本,进行气相色谱法进行分析,这是一个高度精确且复杂的流程,其目的是检测TCA。 然后再通过ROSA Evolution系统对各个批次进行评估处理,这个由阿莫林构建的、荣获专利的创新系统,在市场上独一无二。

每个批次的软木塞都要进行分析。当检测到有极小量的TCA,批次中所有软木塞都将立即送回重新处理。无论分析结果如何,高质量批次中的所有瓶塞都将经历一个水蒸汽蒸馏过程,更有力的保证软木塞为葡萄酒制造商带去巨大的优势。

在接近整个流程的最终阶段时,天然瓶塞将进行抛光,让表面清洁、平滑。然后,它们将在双氧水(H2O2)溶液中洗涤,在工业炉中烘干并稳定。 所有工艺目的是最大程度降低微生物污染的危险。

当确认瓶塞满足客户的规格之后,它们将使用热压方式或使用经美国食品和药物管理局(FDA)批准的墨水加上商标,并覆上优质石蜡或聚硅氧烷膜,以方便灌装时插入瓶口及开瓶时取出。

最后,分批装入聚乙烯袋中,袋中含有在葡萄酒行业中广泛使用的防腐剂二氧化硫(SO2),然后将包装密封好。

技术软木塞

技术软木塞由高质量余料的颗粒制成,它们来自较窄的软木皮和生产天然软木塞的余料,也有可能来自天然软木圆片。

制造圆片和天然瓶塞的软木皮采用相同的挑选和蒸煮流程。待树皮稳定后,会把其两侧削切,生产出厚度约为6.5 毫米、平滑工整的软木皮。接下的工序是沿着树皮的纹理进行机械冲压,这样会使得制成的软木塞在酒瓶的瓶颈内提供强大、一致的压力,达到最佳的密封效果。最后软木塞会通过电子设备进行分拣。

圆片是软木塞与葡萄酒直接接触的部分。为确保深层清洁,阿莫林发明了荣获专利的INOS II洗涤工艺,采用泵纯化,使用70ºC的无氯水。 该洗涤工艺使软木细胞收缩和扩张,迫使污染物排出。

 软木颗粒经过研磨和筛选后压制成技术软木塞。直径3 mm和7 mm的颗粒先被挑选出来,因为它们能提供最大的强度和弹性。所有的颗粒都经过了ROSA Evolution蒸汽蒸馏过程。

然后,瓶塞体逐个在模子中成型或通过挤压成型,并按一定尺寸切割。这两个凝胶流程都使用经FDA批准的胶水。

瓶塞采用机械方式组装。圆片和瓶塞体从筒仓中插入。在这个过程中,首先使用装有摄像机的分拣机挑选出上侧圆片,因为上侧要与葡萄酒接触。另一侧粘至瓶塞体。组装完毕后,需要在烤箱中烘干一小时,让瓶塞稳定。技术软木塞经过与天然瓶塞相同的抛光、清洗和表面处理工艺。

密封包装完成后,软木塞便被发送到世界各地顶级葡萄酒厂使用。

生产流程图

Floor and Cork Coverings

涂层软木
www.wicanders.com

复合软木
www.wicanders.com

绝缘软木
www.amorim.com

Close

Natural Cork - Raw Material and Production Process

Perfect by nature

It is from the cork oak (Quercus Suber L.) that one of nature's most extraordinary products is harvested: cork. A raw material which is so perfect that no industrial or technological processes have yet been able to replicate. Only such a material could give rise to the demanding and sophisticated device that is the cork stopper.

Cork is the bark of the cork oak tree which is stripped every nine years, always between May and August, when the tree is at its most active phase of growth and it is easier to strip without damaging the trunk. The work is done by specialised professionals, who, with absolute precision, are able to handle the only tool used in this delicate process: an axe.

At dawn, the sound of the axe can already be heard making small groves in the brown, leathery trunk of the cork oaks. The cork is removed in large bulging planks, which are very light and still damp from the tree's sap. An average of 40 to 60 kg of cork is harvested from each cork oak. The thinner planks are to be used in the production of disks for technical stoppers or other materials. Only the best quality planks, which are thicker and softer, after resting for six months in the factory's yard and being subjected to state-of-the-art treatments, shall give rise to the most distinguished stoppers - the natural cork stopper, the preferred choice to seal the most prestigious wines.

Those who strip the cork from the trees feel that it is a raw material unlike any other. Although, perhaps they are not aware of its surprising intrinsic characteristics. It consists of a honeycomb of microscopic suberin cells, filled with an air-like gas. This makes it very light, easy to compress, impermeable to liquids and gases, an insulator against moisture and noise, and resilient. It has an «elastic memory» which enables it to adapt to variations in temperature and pressure. It is resistant to fire, abrasion and wear and tear and does not absorb dust. It is one of the most versatile materials available to Man. Furthermore, it is completely natural, biodegradable, renewable and recyclable.

Centuries of experience

The removal of the planks makes a dry noise, reminiscent of the gentle creaking of a door, the sound of a cork passing through the bottleneck. A particularly characteristic aroma fills the air, which is slightly sweet, while the men move on to the next tree, for the process to be repeated over and over again. Due to the precision, seasonality and experience it requires, it is the best paid agricultural work in the world.

Contrary to what happens in the following stages in the cork stopper production process, which is carried out with state-of-the-art technology, stripping is the only process which has been used over the centuries and practically remained unchanged, since Man began to commercially exploit cork to seal wine.

The most noble of products needs time

The recently stripped trunk is orange in colour and trees take on a curious and unusual appearance, only seen in cork oak forests, which only feature in some Mediterranean countries - Portugal, Spain, Italy, France, Morocco, Tunisia and Algeria.

No trees are cut down, which makes it a prime example of sustainability and interdependence between the cork industry and preserving the environment. Stripped from the base up to where the branches grow, they are marked with white paint with a number that indicates the year the cork was harvested. Over the following nine years, they shall continue to flourish and regenerate until they are ready to repeat the ritual.

It takes each cork oak 25 years before it can be stripped for the first time and it is only from the third harvest that the cork will have reached the high standard of quality required for producing cork stoppers. The first two harvests yield the raw material for insulation, flooring and other purposes. This means that to produce the high quality cork for stoppers, it takes each cork oak over 40 years. It is an unhurried tree, with a lifespan that can reach 200 years. In its lifetime, a cork oak may be harvested around 17 times, although there are extremely rare cases which have exceeded this target.

A purpose for each plank

The cork leaves the cork oak forest in trucks bound for the yard where, for a minimum of six months, it shall stabilise and develop an even moisture content. Each load is labelled and registered so that it is possible to trace the origin of an individual batch to the forest - traceability is very important to guarantee quality and a key factor in maintaining integrity in the chain-of-custody, which is essential to obtaining certification by the Forest Stewardship Council® (FSC).

The planks are stacked onto stainless steel structures in large concrete areas, built at a slight angle. This procedure prevents the cork from being in contact with the ground and shows significant results in reducing microbial contamination. The stacks are piled in such a way that they maximise water drainage and air circulation. Cork which has recently arrived is conspicuous in the yard. It is brighter in colour, next to the grey tones of the cork placed there longer ago.

After the resting period, the planks are sorted. Skilled hands select the high quality cork to be transformed into stoppers. The thick cork, with the height needed to extract a whole long single stopper, is to be used for natural stoppers. The thin cork shall be transformed into disks, to be used in the technical corks, Twin Top and Spark.

The cork from the first and second harvest, which has not yet reached the standard of quality required for manufacturing stoppers, as well as that which is harvested from the base of the tree, shall be ground and used to make other products for a wide range of areas such as construction, aeronautics, fashion and design.

Prevention and treatment at the highest level

From the plank to the final product, cork goes through a series of stages which differ according to the type of stopper to be produced. However, in regard to prevention and treatment, all planks for stoppers are subject to the same level of care.

The planks are boiled in stainless steel closed and filtered tanks. The goal is to remove organic objects embedded in the pores and enable the cork to reach the ideal moisture content for processing. The boiling process especially implemented by Amorim called CONVEX, also captures and removes volatile organic compounds from the boiling water.

Each two tonne batch is boiled for an hour in a high technology treatment tank. This process causes the inside of the cork cells to expand, improves the internal structure and contributes to reducing microflora. When the planks are taken out, their volume has increased by about 20%. Besides becoming thicker, they are more regular in structure and easier to handle. However, they are too damp and therefore shall be stacked and stabilised to rest in a sterile area with good ventilation. After two days, they are ready to be processed - a clear advantage of the effectiveness of the CONVEX system, compared with the three weeks required with the old process.

The edges of the planks are prepared and the corners trimmed before an initial manual assessment takes place. The planks are separated into quality categories, based on their thickness, porosity and appearance. Those with defects are sent to be ground and shall be used in other products. Although only good quality planks are selected for producing cork stoppers, none of the cork is wasted.

Natural Cork Stoppers

The planks to be used for top of the range - natural - cork stoppers, are cut into strips and punched with a machine to extract the cylindrical stoppers. Each cylinder is a whole stopper, which results from a highly precise manual or semi-automatic process. Skilled workers can punch up to twenty thousand stoppers a day. The manual punching process results in greater consistency in quality, since each worker can choose the best segments of the strips of cork. In this way, an ideal balance is achieved between quantity and quality.

The stoppers are separated mechanically and photographed by sophisticated computers which classify them on the basis of visual quality. Many by-products from this phase are used to manufacture cork granulate and used in technical stoppers. Only around 25% of the cork is used in the manufacture of natural stoppers.

After the punching process, a statistically significant sample from each batch is subject to analysis by gas chromatography, a highly sophisticated and effective process which aims to detect undesirable components, namely TCA precursors. The batches undergo treatment with the ROSA Evolution system, an innovative system patented by Amorim, which is unique in the market.

Each batch of stoppers is submitted for analysis. Whenever the minimum percentage of TCA is shown, it is immediately returned to the source, for new corrective measures to be applied. Irrespective of the results of the analysis, all the stoppers in the high quality batches are submitted to a steam distillation process, which provides an additional guarantee with huge advantages for wine producers.

Near the end of the final stage of the process, the natural stoppers are polished, resulting in a clean, smooth finish. They are then washed in an aqueous hydrogen peroxide (H2O2) solution, dried in industrial ovens and stabilised. All these processes aim to minimise the risk of microbial contamination.

After confirming that the stoppers meet the client's specifications, they are branded, with heat or ink approved by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and covered with a fine film of paraffin or silicone to facilitate their insertion into and extraction from the bottle.

Finally, the batches are packed into polyethylene bags which contain a widely-used preservative in the wine industry (SO2) and the packages are sealed.

Technical stoppers

Technical stoppers are made from granules produced from the by-products of high quality cork, from the narrow planks and punching of natural cork stoppers, and may or may not include natural cork disks.

The planks for manufacturing disks are selected and boiled using the same process as that used for the planks for natural stoppers. After stabilising, both sides of the planks are trimmed to produce smooth uniform sheets about 6.5 mm thick. These sheets are mechanically punched along the growth lines of the cork, which shall enable the disks to exert strong uniform pressure inside the bottleneck of the bottle of wine. The disks are then electronically sorted into categories.

The disks are the part of the technical stopper which come into contact with the wine. To ensure deep cleaning, Amorim has patented the INOS II washing process, which pumps purified, chlorine-free water at 70ºC. This washing process causes the cork cells to contract and expand forcing contaminants out.

The granules to be used in the body of technical stoppers are pulverised and screened before agglomeration. Those with a diameter between 3 mm and 7 mm are selected, as they provide the greatest strength and elasticity to the stopper. They all undergo the ROSA Evolution steam distillation process.

Subsequently, the body is moulded individually or obtained by extrusion and cut to size. Both agglomeration processes use glue approved by the FDA.

The stoppers are assembled mechanically. The disks and bodies are inserted from silos. On the way, the disks pass through a sorter that uses cameras to determine the upper side of the disk which shall be in contact with the wine. The other side is glued to the body of the stopper. After assembly, the stopper is oven-dried for an hour before being stabilised. Technical stoppers undergo an identical polishing, washing and finishing process to natural stoppers.

After the packages have been sealed, the cork stoppers are ready to discover the world's finest wine.

Production Flowchart

Floor and Cork Coverings

Floor and Cork Coverings
www.wicanders.com

Composite Cork
www.wicanders.com

Insulation Cork Board
www.amorim.com

Close