天然软木塞 - 软木塞回收

回收使用软木塞的最佳归宿

软木塞是葡萄酒不可分割的一部分。但是,当酒瓶打开后,已经使用过的软木塞该如何处理? 在促进软木塞回收领域,阿莫林率先推动软木塞回收,这一概念源于葡萄牙,目前已经传播至世界上的各个地方,例如美国、加拿大、法国、意大利、英国、南非和澳大利亚。回收使用过的软木塞这个微不足道而简单的举措将为保持地球的生命力作出重要贡献。

软木塞本身是环保的 –百分百的天然产品,如果它们最终被丢弃在垃圾桶也不会造成污染。但是,他们完全可回收且可以重复使用,这意味着从可持续发展的角度来看具有明显的积极影响。 不断提高的环保意识促使人们采用有系统的举措来收集和回收不再有任何使用价值的软木塞。第一个项目,名为Green Cork(绿色软木塞)于2008年开始启动,通过与阿莫林和主要的葡萄牙环保协会Quercus合作开展。 从那时起,许多其他项目也在多个国家和地区以相同的方式开展,并且取得了成功。人们积极地为项目作贡献,使项目的影响力已远远超出了葡萄酒消费者范围。许多超市、机场、餐厅、酒庄、品酒师、学校甚至是童子军毅然肩起这个挑战,为已用过的软木塞展开新的一页。在世界各地,有数百万个软木塞被收集和再利用。

这是一个简单的举措,但是给环境带来了巨大帮助。回收后的软木塞在世界上第一个软木塞回收单位上处理和研磨。它是阿莫林子公司Amorim Cork Composites的一个部门,自2009年开始投入运营。一旦转化为颗粒状,它们可以再次加工,成为原材料。虽然它永远不会再次被用作木塞,但是再生软木可以用于墙板、地板、隔热保温材料、高竞速皮划艇、羽毛球拍、网球和板球、汽车和飞机部件、时尚设计精品和流行服饰以及其他多种用途。

American ReCORK计划与加拿大鞋业公司SOLE合作,在美国和加拿下收集已用过的软木塞来制造软木鞋子。

回收使用有利保护环境

每年约有120亿个软木塞被销往世界各地。回收除了增加原材料的重新利用,还延长了软木塞的生命周期。因此,它不仅可以降低与其他高附加值产品的生产有关的成本,还有助于创造一个更加清洁的世界。

软木塞可吸收CO2颗粒,这«继承»了栓皮栎树皮的特性,这种树木具有一个非常重要的功能,那就是能吸收并保留住会导致温室效应的气体。如果它们被分解或焚烧,CO2将被释放到大气中,并造成全球变暖。与之相反,回收可延长软木的CO2保留功能。每生产一顿软木塞,将约有1.83吨CO2被吸收并保留,一旦它们被回收,将可以永远保证该功能一直存在,因为该原材料可以无限制地重新利用。

更多回收,保护更多森林,更有利社会

在软木塞或其他软木产品的整个生产过程中,没有一颗栓皮栎被砍伐。但是,一些阿莫林的回收计划,尤其是在葡萄牙,除了原材料的重新利用以外还有其他任务,那就是再造原始森林。软木塞回收的款项用来资助葡萄牙国家环保协会,其目标是为恢复造林提供资金。在这些计划的推动下,已经种植了数千株地中海树木,包括栓皮栎。

在意大利,收集和回收软木塞不仅是一个环境课题,还是一个社会课题:通过与非营利机构和与建设节能建筑的公司合作,每收集一吨软木塞,将为社会捐赠一千欧元。目前总共已经捐献了成千上万的欧元,主要捐赠给了为对抗癌症和为有身体障碍的人士提供支持的机构,以及与环境保护有关的机构。

image_1image_2image_3image_4image_5image_6image_7image_8

绝不浪费,全面再用

回收使用过的软木塞或重新利用生产软木塞时的余料,这两个原则是紧密关联的。 这两种做法目前阿莫林都在使用。只有30%的软木用于制造天然瓶塞,但是剩余部分也没有浪费 – 它们被磨为颗粒并再次回到生产流程。另外,负责软木塞质量的控制人员筛选了不合规格的木塞后,也会将它们重投生产过程中:因为公司具有独特的技术能力来重新利用软木生产数不尽的产品,所以它的归宿与回收的软木塞类似,也就是利用软木的独特属性生产其他用途的产品

重新利用的软木材料有多种用途,其中包括从回收过程中产生的软木屑可以成为一种能源。在阿莫林,软木屑(生物能)满足公司超过60%的能源需求,它是一种CO2中性的能源。

了解以下国家的软木塞回收项目,请访问:
葡萄牙 - greencork
法国 - ecobouchon
美国和加拿大 - recork
意大利 - etico

Natural Cork - Recycling

The amazing destination of recycled cork

The cork stopper is an integral part of wine. However, after the bottle has been opened, what can be done with the used corks? Corticeira Amorim is a pioneer in the promotion of recycling corks, a concept which originated in Portugal and has spread to various parts of the world, such as the USA and Canada, France, Italy and the United Kingdom, South Africa and Australia. The small and simple gesture of recycling used cork stoppers provides an essential contribution to the vitality of the planet.

Cork stoppers are environment friendly by nature - they are a 100% natural product and do not cause pollution if they end up in the rubbish bin. However, they are also fully recyclable and reusable, which means that they have a clearly positive impact from a sustainability point of view. Increasing environmental awareness was the driving force behind a structured initiative to collect and recycle cork stoppers which no longer have any use. The first project, Green Cork, began in 2008 with a partnership between Amorim and the main Portuguese environmental association, Quercus. Since then, many others have appeared along the same lines in several countries and are a success. People actively contribute to the project, in a process that has conquered much more than the universe of wine consumers. Many supermarkets, airports, restaurants, wineries, sommeliers, schools and even scouts groups have taken up the challenge to give the cork stopper a new lease of life. All over the world, tens of millions of cork stoppers have been collected and recycled.

It is a simple gesture which greatly helps the environment. The recycled stoppers are treated and ground down in the world's first cork recycling unit, which has been in operation since 2009, at Amorim Cork Composites, an Amorim subsidiary, in Portugal. Once transformed into granules, they go back to being a raw material. Although it shall never be used in stoppers again, the recycled cork can be used in coverings, insulation, high competition kayaks, badminton rackets, tennis and cricket balls, car and aircraft components, design and fashion items and a multitude of other uses.

In the USA and Canada, cork stoppers gathered under the American ReCORK programme are used exclusively in the manufacture of footwear, through a partnership with the Canadian company, SOLE.

Recycling is an environment-friendly gesture

Every year around 12 billion cork stoppers are sold worldwide. Recycling, in addition to increasing the reuse of raw materials, enables the life cycle of cork stoppers to be extended. Therefore, not only is it possible to decrease the costs associated with the production of other high value-added products, but also to contribute to a cleaner world.

Cork stoppers absorb CO2 particles which they «inherited» from the bark of the cork oak, a tree which has the important ability to retain this gas which causes the greenhouse effect. If they are decomposed or incinerated, the CO2 is released into the atmosphere and shall contribute to global warming. Conversely, recycling enables the CO2 retention capacity of cork to be extended. In each tonne of cork stoppers, around 1.83 tonnes of CO2 is retained, which, once they have been recycled, this capacity is ensured forever, as the reuse of this raw material is unlimited.

More recycling, more forest, more society

Not a single oak is felled during the whole production process of cork stoppers or other cork products. However, some of Corticeira Amorim's recycling programmes, particularly in Portugal, have another mission besides the reuse of raw material, reverting to the creation of indigenous forests. The sums resulting from the recycling of cork stoppers are channelled into national environmental associations, with the goal of financing reforestation. Under these initiatives, thousands of species of Mediterranean trees are being planted, including the oak tree.

In Italy, the collection and recycling of cork stoppers takes on not only an environmental nature, but also a social one: for each tonne of cork stoppers collected, one thousand Euros are donated to civil society, through non-profit organisations and a partnership with a construction company of energy-efficient buildings. Thousands of Euros have already been donated, especially to institutions which fight against cancer and support people with handicaps, as well as institutions related to the protection of the environment.

image_1image_2image_3image_4image_5image_6image_7image_8

Nothing is lost, everything is transformed

Recycling used cork stoppers or reusing the by-products resulting from the production of new stoppers are principles which are strongly related to each other. Both are current practice at Amorim. Just 30% of cork is used to manufacture natural stoppers, but what is left is not wasted - it is transformed into granules and returned to the production process. The same happens when cork stoppers are rejected by quality control: since the company has the unique technical capacity to reuse the cork for endless products, its destination is similar to recycled stoppers, that is, to generate other applications which take advantage of the unique properties of cork.

The possibility to reuse the raw material is so vast that it includes the cork dust resulting from recycling being used as a source of energy. At Amorim, over 60% of energy needs are met by using cork dust (biomass), which is a CO2 neutral source of energy.

Learn about the cork stopper collection projects in:
Portugal - greencork
France - ecobouchon
USA and Canada - recork
Italy - etico