天然软木塞 - 栓皮栎林扶持可持续发展

一生的朋友

栓皮栎林,或称为montados,是地中海国家经济与社会的命脉,也是大自然的肺部。因为他们对自然和人类都扮演着重要的角色,所以它们受法律保护。葡萄牙的栓皮栎林是世界上最大的,栓皮栎是葡萄牙的国树, 自13世纪以来就受法律的保护。越来越多的人意识到栓皮栎林生态系统的价值,因而有了植树造林以及将最佳实践系统化的重要举措。这是一种确保未来继续发展的途径,葡萄牙有一句谚语说:“关心他们的孙辈,就种一棵栓皮栎”

image_1image_2image_3image_4image_5image_6image_7

世界上最古老和最大的栓皮栎叫做“吹哨树”(Whistler Tree)。这个名字来自于很多鸣禽飞落在这一棵超过14米高的栓皮栎枝上所发出的叫声。虽然我们可以粗略估算“吹哨树”在未来所做的直接贡献,但它是一棵独特的树,我们无法估算它其他方面的贡献,包括有多少动物得到其庇护,以其果子为饲料,为土地提供养分,甚至可以对抗全球变暖的影响 。

在地中海盆地有着数以万计的栓皮栎,包括葡萄牙Alentejo省平原上的“吹哨树”(Whistler Tree),支持着这一个独特而脆弱的生态环境,为濒危物种提供栖息地。栓皮栎林为200多种的动物提供理想的生存环境,而且在林中每平方米有135种植物,其中许多用于医药、芳香剂或烹饪方面等。

栓皮栎林,一个富有生物多样性的生态系统,被非政府的环保组织视为世界35个生物多样性热点地区之一, 其重要性可媲美誉为“绿色天堂”的亚马逊河雨林、安第斯山脉或是婆罗洲等。

栓皮栎林非常适应温暖的气候和干旱的土壤,可以防止水土流失和土地荒漠化。软木作为栓皮栎的表皮,其阻燃性可以成为大火的天然屏障。它的树根能蓄住雨水,成为重要的分水岭,然后从地下的深处吸收养分,再透过树叶返回到土壤,成为一个天然的肥料。

支持多种经济活动的树林

根据世界野生动物基金会的报道,在欧洲南部和非洲北部几百年来栓皮栎是环境、社会、经济的支柱,对十万多居住在这地方的人们有着重要的影响。他们直接和间接地依赖软木为生。广泛的农业、林业、畜牧业、狩猎以及与栓皮栎有关的经济活动包括软木和葡萄酒行业,都是可持续发展的典范。

每年在全世界230万公顷的栓皮栎林里可采收约34万吨的软木,其中部分用于生产软木塞,共可生产120亿个。在葡萄牙,软木行业扮演着尤其重要的作用。葡萄牙占世界软木生产量的55%、出口大约90%加工过的原材料。最具代表性的软木塞占总出口价值的70%。

软木塞的重要贡献

软木塞推动了对栓皮栎林的保护和持续发展,它让上万人口能继续在干旱或半干旱的地区居住工作。采收的软木超过一半是用于制造不同类型的瓶塞,其余的被用于其他用途。因此,软木和葡萄酒行业则共同分担一个重要的责任:他们不仅维持一个重要的经济活动,也有助于发展栓皮栎林。

使用软木使栓皮栎林得以继续蓬勃生长,因为定期采收树皮能让树皮自然再生。通过自我再生,栓皮栎也加强了其另一个惊人的特点:它能够吸收二氧化碳。一棵剥离表皮的栓皮栎平均吸收5倍的CO2。据估计,每年栓皮栎林吸取高达1,400万吨的CO2,为减少温室气体排放有着巨大的贡献。

未来时代的经济

栓皮栎林对于环境和社会经济非常重要,像世界自然基金会、树林管理委员会(FSC®)和欧洲软木联合会(C. E. Liège)等机构与阿莫林都有合作,一起发起鼓励最佳实践及奖励林场主人提高栓皮栎林生态系统的发展举措。

这些树林是平衡环境保护可持续发展的一个完美例子。他们也是一个未来经济的命脉,为此在葡萄牙鼓励当地增加栓皮栎林的面积。葡萄牙拥有716,000公顷的栓皮栎林,一直在执行退耕还林的计划,每年增加一万公顷 (4%)树林面积。以种植两棵新栓皮栎来接替一棵老死栓皮栎。如果计划顺利进行, 200年后它们将达到“吹哨树”(Whistler Tree)的年龄,将为这个地球的生态系统作出重要的贡献,采剥软木还将维持数千个就业机会,让人们在它们的土地生产数以百万计的软木塞。

想要了解更多关于阿莫林可持续文化,可访问网站: www.amorim.com

Natural Cork - Sustainability and the Role of the Cork Oak Forest

A friend for life

Cork oak forests, referred to as montados, are the lungs of the environment, the economy and the society of Mediterranean countries. They have such an important role for nature and people that they are protected by law. In Portugal, where there is the largest cork oak forest area in the world, the cork oak is the national tree and has been protected by law since the 13th century. A growing awareness of the value of the ecosystem of the cork oak forest has led to important initiatives in reforestation and the systematisation of good practices. It is a way of ensuring the future, without forgetting the old saying: «Whoever cares for their grandchildren, plants a cork oak».

image_1image_2image_3image_4image_5image_6image_7

The largest and oldest cork oak in the world is called the Whistler Tree. The name comes from the sound made by the numerous songbirds which land on its branches, reaching a height of over 14 metres. Although it is still possible to establish its direct contribution to the cork industry - it is a unique tree -, it is impossible to calculate how many animals it has sheltered, fed with its acorns and the extent to which it has contributed to fertilising and irrigating the land and even to fighting global warming.

Similarly to the Whistler Tree on the Alentejo plain, millions of other cork oaks all over the Mediterranean basin support a unique and fragile ecology which constitutes a habitat for rare and endangered species. It's not just the over two hundred animal species that find ideal conditions for survival in the cork oak forest - per each thousand square meters, there are 135 plant species, many of which are medicinal, aromatic or used in cooking.

These forests form one of the richest ecosystems in terms of biodiversity, being recognised by environmental NGOs as one of the 35 world hotspots in this field. They are on a par with paradises such as Amazonia, the Andes or Borneo.

Perfectly adapted to the warm climate and arid soil, cork oak forests protect against erosion and resulting desertification and are a natural barrier against fire, due to the weak combustion of cork, which acts as an outer layer of skin on the cork oak. The roots retain rainwater, forming vital watersheds and absorb nutrients from the depths of the earth, which are later returned to the soil through the leaves, which become a natural fertiliser.

A forest of opportunities

For centuries cork oak forests have been an environmental, social and economic pillar, playing a decisive role in the lives of thousands of people in Southern Europe and North Africa - over one hundred thousand, who directly and indirectly depend on these forests, according to the WWF - World Wild Fund for Nature. A wide range of agricultural, forestry, forest grazing, hunting and economic activities is based on cork oak culture - including the cork and wine industries, which are the paradigm of sustainable development.

Around 340 thousand tonnes of cork are extracted annually from the 2.3 million hectares of world cork oak forests, which in the cork stopper market translates into approximately 12 billion units. In Portugal, the cork sector plays a particularly important role. Portugal accounts for 55% of world cork production, exporting around 90% of raw material, which is mainly processed. The cork stopper is the most representative, accounting for 70% of the value of these exports.

The cork stopper's important contribution

It is the cork stopper that ensures the maintenance of the cork oak forest and, as a result, the possibility for hundreds of populations to continue to live and work in arid and semi-arid areas. Over half the extracted cork is used in the manufacture of all types of stoppers, the rest being used in other applications. Thus, the cork and wine industries share the same responsibility: not only do they maintain a key economic activity but also contribute to the viability of the cork oak forest.

Using cork keeps the forest alive, because regular stripping contributes to cork oaks regenerating naturally. By self-regenerating, the cork oak also strengthens another of its surprising features: its ability to absorb carbon dioxide. A stripped cork oak absorbs, on average, five times more CO2. It is estimated that every year cork oak forests retain up to 14 million tonnes of carbon dioxide, a sizeable contribution for reducing greenhouse gas emissions, the main cause of climate change.

An economy of the future

The environmental and socio-economic importance of the cork oak forest is so valuable that several organisations, among which the WWF, the Forest Stewardship Council® (FSC) and the European Cork Federation (C. E. Liège), with Corticeira Amorim's participation, have developed initiatives aimed at encouraging good practices and rewarding agro-forestry owners who contribute to improving essential services of the cork oak forest ecosystem.

These forests are a perfect example of the balance between preserving the environment and sustainable development. They are also the foundations of an economy of the future, which encourages the increase of the cork oak forest area in Portugal. Portugal, which boasts 716,000 hectares of cork oak forest, has been carrying out important reforesting at a rate of ten thousand hectares per year, that is, an annual growth of around 4%. Two new cork oaks are planted for each old cork oak. If all goes well, when they reach the age of the Whistler Tree in over two hundred years, they shall also have made a fundamental contribution to the vitality of the planet's ecosystem. With their cork, they will also have helped maintain thousands of jobs, by keeping people on their land producing millions of cork stoppers.

To learn more about Corticeira Amorim's culture of sustainability, visit the website www.amorim.com