产品 - 软木塞VS工业制造瓶塞

分别就在8亿个细胞

消费者钟爱使用软木塞封装葡萄酒。经过在全球多个国家的调研证实,不论位于何种细分市场,饮用哪种葡萄酒,软木塞都是消费者的首选。消费者将软木塞与葡萄酒的品质关联起来,他们认为工业制造瓶塞会降低葡萄酒的价值。然而,这并非巧合:软木塞确实更环保并且较其他封装材料而言,更有利于葡萄酒的陈酿。

开启一瓶用软木塞封装的葡萄酒能给我们带来愉悦感觉,这一点被多个在法国、意大利、德国、英国、西班牙和美国进行的独立调查所肯定。不仅仅是因为从瓶中拔出软木塞时能产生欢庆的声响,更是因为消费者会将天然软木塞与品质优良的葡萄酒关联起来。

事实上,一个天然软木瓶塞所含的8亿个细胞能改变一切。没有任何一种软木塞替代物能将软木塞的化学惰性、抗渗性、弹性恢复和密封能力结合起来。2011年发表在《美国酿酒学与葡萄栽培学》杂志上的关于葡萄酒与软木塞之间相互作用的研究表明,天然和采用领先工艺的软木塞是阻隔水和气体渗透的理想选择。相反,虽然工业制造瓶塞能密封液体但却无法密封气体,正因如此就会导致葡萄酒受到酒瓶周围环境中的挥发性化合物的污染。

软木塞既能保护葡萄酒抵挡有害颗粒物的污染又不会影响其呼吸。这一方面是因为软木塞的细胞注满了类似于空气的混合气体;另一方面是因为软木的天然弹性能适应瓶颈形状,是其他任何工业制造瓶塞都无法比拟的。因此,软木塞既能防止葡萄酒溢出,又不妨碍它的呼吸和陈酿。这一点至关重要,尤其是因为氧气在瓶装葡萄酒陈酿中担任其中一个重要角色,它从优质软木塞中释放到酒瓶中。

“有一次,我认识的一位酿酒师做了一个测试,为了看看工业制造瓶塞会如何影响葡萄酒的味道。他将多个空酒瓶灌满水,插入工业在造瓶塞并将其存储在地窖里。六个月后,其中数瓶的水产生一种类似芭比娃娃 的塑料味道——这已算是其中最好的味道了。”


纽约Le Bernardin 餐厅的品酒师Aldo Sohm 

谢绝工业制造瓶塞

科学研究和葡萄酒制造商的经验总结出使用工业制造瓶塞的几大弊端:造成 葡萄酒过早氧化、吸收或散失酒的香气以及瓶塞本身奇怪的味道。此外,工业制造瓶塞还增加了拨出和重新封装的难度且不易从开瓶器取下。螺旋盖的技术局限性越来越明显:螺旋盖会刺激酒中硫磺气味的挥发、导致灌装生产线技术问题、运输中易损坏、引起封装后的氧化、延迟葡萄酒的陈酿并且不适合用于长期存储。

除此以外,工业制造瓶塞也可能是产生TCA(2,4,6- 三氯苯甲醚)的来源。TCA是自然界的一种化合物,可能会改变酒的味道,多年来一直被认为只有软木塞会产生这种味道。然而,在工业制造瓶塞继续反驳已受TCA污染及存在其他弊端时,软木行业已经在降低TCA方面颇有建树。例如,阿莫林已加大研发投入,使得TCA水平降低到微乎其微并低于检测限以下。

即使是在工业制造瓶塞盛行的国家,软木塞有益于葡萄酒这点也是广为人知,尽管有时更体现在思想层面而并非技术层面。新西兰便是一个好例子,那里的葡萄酒评论家为支持软木塞摇旗呐喊。在该国,一些最杰出的葡萄酒制造商选择惯用于最成熟传统市场的软木塞,而其他曾经放弃软木塞的生产商由于对铝制螺旋盖失望,纷纷开始恢复使用软木塞。新西兰圣山酒庄(Scared Hill)和邻国澳大利亚的罗世登酒庄 (Rusden)就是范例。

价格/质量因素

软木塞品质的提升、工业制造瓶塞引起的问题和消费者对软木塞的钟爱,这些关键因素越发促使酒庄选择软木塞而非其他替代产品。由尼尔森公司于2010年和2012年间进行的一项调查证实:在具有风向标作用的美国市场,软木塞封装的葡萄酒的销售增长26%、收益增长23%,而使用工业制造瓶塞的葡萄酒销售和收益则分别下降12%和7%。根据这项调查,前100家顶级优质葡萄酒品牌中的61%选择使用软木塞。这项调查的重点关注单价在6美元(4欧元)以上的主要品牌,这表明,相比工业制造瓶塞,软木塞的使用已越来越广泛和有竞争力。

阿莫林推出多款技术软木塞包括Twin Top软木塞、香槟软木塞和Neutrocork软木塞供市场选择,无论价格高低,它们都拥有优良的品质且面向各自不同的细分市场。在一些市场上,如Neutrocork软木塞的价格不到工业制造软木塞的一半。

“ 在使用铝制螺旋盖五年后,我们清楚了解到软木是对我们的葡萄酒最好的选择。无论是出于技术和可持续发展的角度,或是出于消费者对品位的追求的角度,软木塞都是葡萄酒最好的伙伴。”

澳大利亚罗世登酒庄(Rusden)Christian Canute 

大多数人钟情软木塞

美国、法国、意大利和西班牙等一些国家始终钟情于软木塞。接受访问的消费者普遍认为这种天然瓶塞与质量是相关联的。一项发布于2012年由Tragon做的调查研究发现,在美国,瓶塞类型比起葡萄酒的种类、价格和原产国更能影响消费者购买决策。94%压倒性数量的受访者表示,他们会更倾向于购买使用天然软木塞封装的葡萄酒。93%的受访者认为软木塞代表高品质的葡萄酒。持此观点的受访者比支持合成塞封装的受访者多3倍,比支持螺旋盖的受访者多9倍。一半的受访者认为使用工业制造瓶塞和螺旋盖便意味着低品质或更甚的葡萄酒。

在2012年进行的一项软木塞项目研究中显示,在西班牙,超过92%的消费者钟情于软木塞。结果还显示出,86%的受访者认为相较于工业制造瓶塞,软木塞能更好地保存葡萄酒和cava酒的品质。从对软木塞的认知角度来看,27%的受访者强调了天然的特性、26%提及了传统、14%提到了可回收性、13%指出了软木塞作为密封产品的高品质。

相关调查研究已经显示,占世界葡萄酒市场22%的意大利,其消费者正日益确信软木塞是保护葡萄酒品质的最佳瓶塞。在市场研究公司Demoskopea于2011年做的调查中,85%的受访消费者首选软木塞。一个更高的比例——88%的消费者表示打开一瓶酒,闻一闻软木塞是种享受。在此研究中,超过一半的受访者(57%)表示,他们愿意付更多的钱来购买一瓶用软木塞封装的葡萄酒。 对于97%的意大利人而言,软木塞代表了传统,83%的人认为其对保护环境十分重要,77%的人注重质量因素。大多数人——约占88%的比例,也将软木塞视作可循环再造的产品。

在法国,益普索(Ipsos)在2010年的一项研究表明,90%的消费者和80%的葡萄酒专家也偏爱软木塞。在专业人士(分销商、葡萄酒酿造企业、品酒师和酿酒师)中,91%会经常使用软木塞而80%会频繁使用。他们肯定了软木塞有助于葡萄酒的成熟,并认为相较于螺旋盖或工业制造瓶塞,软木塞能更好地保存葡萄酒的全部芳香。

在法国民众中,96.3%的受访者将软木塞与传统相关联,89.8%表示软木塞能保存葡萄酒的所有香气,89.3%的受访者在软木塞和其他瓶塞之间毫不犹豫地选择软木塞。

在德国,2010年曼海姆大学在“Natürlich Kork”活动时开展的一项调查表明,软木塞不仅最耳熟能详,并且是超过一半以上(57%)受访者的首选。在购买葡萄酒时, 53%的受访者愿意为使用天然软木塞封装的葡萄酒支付5%或更多的额外费用。所有受访者中对软木塞的满意度为69%,在经常选择天然软木塞的受访者中的满意度则超过了80%。德国人喜欢软木塞,因为他们认为使用软木塞的葡萄酒品质高,同时软木塞代表了可持续发展和生态保护。

“独特性”的课题

过去的几年,阿莫林关注、支持英国等主要市场中的多个回归使用软木塞的活动, 并且积极推动在大型超市展开的消费者教育活动。

英国市场仍然对葡萄酒软木塞的优势乃至其原材料的采收过程知之甚少。由独立顾问公司Cragg Ross Dawson在2010年进行的一项针对消费者的态度和行为的定性研究表明,一些受访者错误地认为软木塞原材料的采剥需要砍伐树木。然而,对于了解软木塞的受访者而言,环保与品位是他们在选购葡萄酒的重要考虑因素。

尽管多数的英国受访者承认他们买的最多的是快消酒品,但他们都清楚地知道软木塞代表更高品质和陈酿时间较长的葡萄酒。选择购买软木塞封装葡萄酒是更感性的,因为它让人们联想起品质、拔出软木塞的仪式、“砰”的声响、传统和正宗、成熟的葡萄酒和有品位的消费者以及天然等其他因素。另一方面,软木塞也被和更昂贵的葡萄酒以及餐厅关联起来,有意思的是受访者承认与其他人一起时,他们更倾向于选择软木塞封装的葡萄酒,即使动机可能是出于关注别人如何看待自己的选择。因此,在重要宴会和高级餐厅中,软木塞封装的葡萄酒往往会是首选。

尽管在英国,使用螺旋盖封装的葡萄酒有巨大的消费市场,受访者承认他们怀念软木塞那种“独特的感觉”。英国的受访者对于工业制造瓶塞感到失望甚至认为受到了误导。他们认为这种瓶塞代表低质量的葡萄酒,并且不如软木塞利于环保。的确,天然以及环保通常联想到的是软木塞,或是由于其生产过程中碳足迹低于工业制造瓶塞,或是因为其有助于保护森林。使用软木塞的葡萄酒有助于维护一个可持续发展的产业、一份历史传统和一种独具特色的生活方式。

“用了软木塞,我们葡萄酒的品质真的更好了。它们可能不是最完美的,但是味道好极了。”

南非Cape Point Vineyards葡萄园Duncan Savage

软木塞能促进业务并提高企业形象

虽然看似简单,但要选择使用软木塞的葡萄酒并不总是那么容易的。购买者往往不清楚想要购买的葡萄酒使用的是何种瓶塞,只能凭感觉挑选。如果酒庄能在瓶中的标签上标明使用软木塞,既可方便消费者选购,也能提升葡萄酒品牌的地位,最终更可能帮助增加销售。比如在西班牙,78%的消费者表示,由于并不总能从瓶身上看到瓶塞的类型,因此标签上的标明就显得至关重要。

总的来说,消费者会将螺旋盖与廉价葡萄酒关联起来,而工业制造瓶塞则会让他们觉得被误导了。这在品牌的业绩中得以体现。在美国,尼尔森于2010年总结到,相较于使用如铝制螺旋盖或工业制造瓶塞这些替代品的葡萄酒品牌,使用软木塞的葡萄酒品牌具有更高的年均销售增长和更为稳定的价格。比如说新西兰的葡萄酒品牌Nobilo Marlborough在2009年成为美国最畅销的sauvignon blanc酒。尽管产自一个以铝制螺旋盖为主导的国家,但它针对美国消费者调整了包装,用软木塞进行封装。这成为了销售的关键因素。

在新西兰和澳大利亚,工业制造瓶塞的盛行已经有一段时间了,虽然已经开始有人反对,但生产商仍然倾向于使用螺旋盖。最具热心的年轻澳大利亚生产商之一Ben Glaetzer表示“如果有人愿意支付三四百美元买一瓶顶级葡萄酒,他们会希望看到一个软木瓶塞”。

葡萄酒杂志WBM 和澳洲ABC电台也于近日发表文章和报告,提醒新西兰的酒商注意,坚持使用铝制螺旋盖会降低他们向中国出口的潜在价值并带来负面的形象。

中国消费者很大程度上会将软木塞与酒的附加价值关联起来。对此虽然没有专门的市场调研,专家估计高于90%的消费者钟爱使用软木塞封装的酒。在2011年,一个由香港的进口商和零售商Abbelio葡萄酒总监Mike Convey开展的研究项目中,61%的受访者选择使用软木塞。这项研究的规模与工商管理硕士论文相约, 涉及了包括北京和上海在内中国四个省市的841名葡萄酒消费者。

更多研发投入,更有效提升性能

由于大量投入研发方面,现在的软木塞性能日益出色,满足葡萄酒制造商所期。因此,越来越多的酒庄重新使用软木塞也就在意料之中,例如美国的Rutherford以及南非的Cape Point和Klein Constantia等。在Klein Constanti,这个南非的重要酒庄由于担心葡萄酒会因长时间被铝盖密封于瓶中而滋生出硫磺味道,决定在Perdeblokke Sauvignon酒瓶上恢复使用天然软木塞。当时,Klein Constantia的主力酿酒师Adam Mason解释到为什么他觉得使用软木塞更安全:“过去我使用软木塞时,从未遇到产生硫磺味道的问题,然而,我看到软木塞的质量在过去几年里有所提升。”

“我们已经恢复使用软木塞封装高品质葡萄酒。在我们使用螺旋盖的十年间,软木塞的品质有了显著的提高。”


新西兰圣山酒庄(Sacred Hill)Tony Bish

另一个在南非选择软木塞的例子是SPAR,SPAR是该国主要连锁超市之一。在2012年,该零售商推出了27款价格从3.5到16欧元不等的自有品牌葡萄酒,使用天然软木塞封装。据SPAR表示,之所以选择软木塞不仅是因为相信软木塞可以更好地与他们的酒相融合,更是因为这关系到了一个可持续发展的问题。SPAR在推出自有品牌葡萄酒的宣传册中表示 “ 人们日益注重封装材料的碳足迹,所以,SPAR也很关注不同类型的瓶塞所带来的环境问题,因此我们更倾向于天然软木塞”。

软木塞有利于环境保护

在美国和欧洲,对于许多消费者和零售商而言,选择可持续包装成为了一个日益重要的问题。在这方面,软木塞是无可匹敌的。它是纯天然原料,可生物降解、可再生和可回收并且在生产时耗能极少——比工业制造瓶塞要少四到五倍。

普华永道在2007年至2008年实施的一项研究分析了软木塞的生命周期并且评估了软木塞、螺旋盖和工业制造瓶塞三种类型的葡萄酒瓶塞可能造成的环境影响,结果对软木塞有非常正面的评价:在被分析的7项环境指标中,6项指标上它排名第一,仅在耗水量这一项位居第二。

即使不考虑栓皮栎林所能吸收的CO2,软木塞所产生的温室气体排放量比铝制螺旋盖要低24倍、比工业制造瓶塞要低上10倍。

软木塞是唯一一种能产生积极影响的封装材料,不仅因为它们有较小的碳足迹,还因为它们能够吸收大气中的二氧化碳。根据意大利林业及木工协会Assolegno在2010年发表的一项研究,每年饮用150亿瓶用软木塞封装的葡萄酒可以帮助封存4.5万辆汽车造成的污染,即每年可以吸收11.85万吨二氧化碳,这是一个激动人心的数字。如果我们将此数据与栓皮栎林的生态系统在封存CO2、保存物种、防治荒漠化和创造就业机会方面所起的重要作用相结合,毫无疑问,使用软木塞会带来积极影响。

使用软木塞的酒窖可以减少其储藏酒瓶中18%到40%的二氧化碳排放量。这意味着对于旨在尽量减少碳足迹并采用最佳环保措施的葡萄酒制造商、分销商和零售商而言,软木塞是最佳选择。

几百年来,软木塞使饮用葡萄酒变得特别。它是最原始的封装材料也是最优质葡萄酒的选择 ,葡萄酒行业70%的厂商更喜欢用软木塞,无论是出于个人体验、葡萄酒类型、生产工艺或是市场的原因。软木塞和葡萄酒都是大自然的产物,将这两种产品结合起来是正确的选择。选择软木塞的生产者表明了他们酿的酒质量上乘。

“我们决定改用天然软木塞。这是一个极好的封装材料。它是一种天然产品,这一点是我们恢复使用软木的主要原因之一。”

美国Rutherford葡萄酒公司Steve Rued

Products - Cork vs. Artificial Closures

800 million cells make all the difference

Consumers prefer wines with cork stoppers. Surveys conducted in several countries confirm that at a global level, cork stoppers are the preferred choice, regardless of the segments and situations in which wine is consumed. Consumers associate cork stoppers with the quality of the wine and regard artificial closures as a factor which devalues it. However, it is no coincidence: cork stoppers are more environment friendly and contribute to the development of the wine like no other alternative.

The act of opening a bottle of wine which has been sealed with a cork stopper has a special flavour, even when we are at home. That is what several independent surveys carried out in France, Italy, Germany, the United Kingdom, Spain, and the United States confirm. And it is not just because of the celebratory sound of a cork being pulled out of a bottle. It is because consumers associate natural cork stoppers with good or fine quality wine.

In fact, it is the 800 million cells found in a single natural cork stopper that make all the difference. No other solution combines the inert nature of cork, its impermeability, flexibility, sealing capacity and resilience. Studies of the interaction of cork stoppers with wine, published in 2011 in the American Journal of Enology and Viticulture, show that natural and technical cork stoppers are ideal to seal liquid and gas. Conversely, artificial stoppers, although they seal the liquid, are unable to seal the gas. Just this detail can expose the wine to contamination by small volatile compounds present in the environment around the bottle.

With the cork stopper, the need to protect the wine from harmful particles does not prevent it from breathing. On the one hand, because cork cells are made up of an air-like gas; on the other, because the raw material which makes up the cork stopper has a natural ability to adapt to the shape of the bottleneck, which no artificial stopper is able to do. Thus, the cork stopper prevents the wine from spilling, but does not prevent it from breathing and developing. This is a vital feature, above all because oxygen is one of the most important factors in the development of bottled wine and its dissipation within the bottle relies heavily on the efficiency of the cork stopper.

«Once, a winemaker I know did a test to see how plastic stoppers affect a wine's flavour. He filled empty wine bottles with water, placed plastic stoppers in them and stored them in the cellar. After six months, the water from certain bottles tasted like a Barbie doll - and those were the best ones.»

Aldo Sohm,
Sommelier at Restaurant
Le Bernardin , New York

Artificial? No, thank you.

Scientific studies and the experience of wine producers show that there are several problems related to the use of artificial stoppers: premature oxidation, the absorption and transfer of aromas or strange flavours are some of the drawbacks most associated with synthetic stoppers. Moreover, they increase the difficulty in extracting and resealing the bottle and removing from the cork screw. In the case of screw caps, the technical limitations are becoming increasingly evident: they stimulate the development of sulphur odours in the wine and cause technical problems on the bottling line, are vulnerable to damage caused in transport and can cause post-bottling oxidation, delay the development of the wine and are not appropriate for long-term storage.

Added to all of this is still the fact that artificial stoppers may also be a source of TCA (2,4,6-trichloroanisole), a compound present in nature, which may alter the flavour of the wine and for many years was associated exclusively with cork stoppers. However, while artificial stoppers continue to debate with this and other enemies of the taste, the cork industry has invested against TCA in an exemplary fashion - in the case of Corticeira Amorim and as a result of major investment in terms of R&D, TCA levels in cork stoppers are below the detection limit.

The positive influence of cork stoppers on wine is renowned, even in countries where artificial stoppers are almost compulsory, which sometimes takes on facets which are more ideological than technical. Such is the case of New Zealand, where wine critics argue in favour of cork stoppers. In that country, some of the most distinguished wine producers choose cork, as in the most mature and traditional markets, while others, who had abandoned the cork stopper are returning, disappointed with the aluminium screw cap. Among other key examples are Sacred Hill and, in neighbouring Australia, Rusden.

«After a five year experience with aluminium caps, it has become clear that cork is best for our wines. From a technical or sustainability point of view or from an aspirational point of view on the part of the consumer, cork is wine's best ally.»

Christian Canute
Rusden, Australia

Price/quality factor

The improvement in the quality of cork, the problems associated with artificial closures and the unwavering consumer preference for cork stoppers, are increasingly the key decision-making factors for wineries to choose cork stoppers and not the so-called alternative products. In the market benchmark of the USA, a study carried out by A.C. Nielsen between 2010 and 2012 confirmed an increase of 26% in sales and 23% in revenue from wines sealed with cork stoppers - against a decline of 12% and 7% respectively, for artificial closures. According to the study, 61% of the 100 top premium wine brands use cork stoppers. The study focused on the main brands priced above 6 dollars (4 euros), which shows that the choice of cork is increasingly broader and competitive, against artificial closures.

The introduction of technical stoppers, such as Twin Top, champagne stoppers and Neutrocork stoppers, manufactured by Amorim, has broadened the range of cork stopper options, which are of excellent quality and indicated for each market segment, regardless of price. In some markets, cork stoppers such as Neutrocork may cost less than half the price of the main oil-derived closures.

Louisa Rose, Chief Winemaker of the Australian wine producer Yalumba, says although the caps have their advantages, exporting the product may be problematic. «Some of the Asian markets and particularly China are very adamant the best wine in the world is sealed under cork and if we want to be considered to be the best wine in the world ... most wineries are realising that in fact it does have to be under a cork still» 

The majority prefer cork

The USA, France, Italy and Spain are some of the countries which remain faithful to cork stoppers. The perception of quality associated with this natural closure is common to the majority of consumers surveyed.

In the USA, a study carried by Tragon, published in 2012, found that the type of closure has more influence on the purchasing decision than the type of wine, price or country of origin. An overwhelming 94% of respondents said they would be more likely to buy wine with natural cork. For a massive 93%, cork is associated with high quality wines. This perception is three times higher when compared to synthetic closures and nine times higher in regard to caps, which half the respondents associate with low or very low quality wines.

In Spain, loyalty to cork is common to a significant 92% of consumers, shown by a study carried out in 2012, within the framework of the Cork project. Results show that 86% of Spaniards believe that the cork stopper preserves the quality of wine and cava better, compared with artificial closures. In regard to perception, 27% highlight the natural factor associated with the cork stopper, 26% mention tradition, 14% refer to the possibility of recycling the cork stopper and 13% point to its quality as a closure.

Italy, which accounts for 22% of the world wine market, has shown that it is increasingly convinced that the best closure to protect the quality of the wine is the cork stopper. It is the preferred choice for 85% of consumers surveyed in 2011 by the market research company Demoskopea. For an even higher percentage, 88%, opening a bottle of wine and smelling the cork is a pleasure. In the same study, over half of those interviewed (57%) said that they were willing to pay more for a bottle of wine sealed with cork. For 97% of Italians, the cork stopper is associated with tradition, while 83% consider the protection of the environment important and 77% the quality factor. The majority (88%) also recognises it as a recyclable product.

In France, a study by Ipsos in 2010 showed that nine out of ten consumers and eight out of ten wine industry professionals also prefer cork stoppers. Among professionals (distributors, winemaking businesses, sommeliers and oenologists), 91% use cork stoppers regularly and 80% frequently. They recognise the contribution cork makes to the wine maturation process and believe that it is better at preserving all the aromas when compared with aluminium caps or plastic closures.

From the general French public, 96.3% of those interviewed associate the cork stopper with tradition, 89.8% state that cork preserves all the wine's aromas and 89.3% do not hesitate when choosing between a cork stopper and another closure. The choice is cork.

In Germany, a study developed by the University of Mannheim in 2010, within the scope of the «Natürlich Kork» campaign, showed that not only is the cork stopper the best known, but that it is the preferred choice for over half (57%) of the respondents. When buying wine, 53% are willing to pay an additional 5% or more for a wine sealed with natural cork. The degree of satisfaction in regard to the cork stopper is 69% across all respondents. Among those who usually choose natural cork, the degree of satisfaction exceeds 80%. Germans prefer cork because they believe that the wine is high quality and associate the cork stopper with sustainability and ecology.

A question of «uniqueness»

Over the past few years, Amorim has noted and supported several movements to return to the cork stopper in various key markets, such as the United Kingdom, in this case, particularly at large-scale retail level.

The United Kingdom is still a poorly informed market on the benefits of cork for wine and even on the harvesting process of the raw material. Qualitative research on the attitude and behaviour of consumers, conducted in 2010 by independent consultancy Cragg Ross Dawson, shows that some of those surveyed wrongly believe that cork results from felling trees. Yet the environmental and aspirational factor is what weighs the most in the choice of those who are better informed.

Despite the majority of those surveyed in the United Kingdom admitting that they buy, above all, fast consumption wine, they are clearly aware of the association of cork stoppers with higher quality and older wines. The choice of wines sealed with cork is shown to be more emotional, usually because it is associated with quality, the ritual of removing the cork stopper and the sound (the pop), tradition and authenticity, maturity (of both the wine and the consumers) and nature, among other factors. On the other hand, the cork stopper is also associated with more expensive wines and restaurants, which, curiously, could be a preferential factor - the respondents admitted that with other people they feel more motivated to choose bottles with a cork stopper, even if the motive may be the concern for what others think about their choice. Thus cork sealed bottles are often the preferred choice on special occasions and in a restaurant setting.

In the United Kingdom there is a large wine consumption market sealed with screw caps, but the respondents admit that they miss the «feeling of uniqueness» when they opt for this solution. In regard to plastic stoppers, English respondents are disappointed and even feel misled. It is this type of closure that they associate with poor quality wine and the opposite to the natural factor of cork. Indeed, nature and the benefits to the environment are characteristics which are more associated with cork stoppers, whether due to their production being associated with a smaller carbon footprint than artificial closures, or because they help to preserve forests. Wines with a cork stopper contribute to maintaining a sustainable industry, a heritage, a tradition and very specific lifestyles.

«Our wines really are better with cork. They may not be perfect, but simply
taste better.»

Duncan Savage,
Cape Point Vineyards, South Africa

It promotes business and a positive image

It seems simple, but it is not always so easy to opt for wines with cork stoppers. The buyer is often faced with a lack of information on the type of closure used. It is a blind test at the time of purchase. Information on the use of the cork stopper on the label of the bottle of wine has double benefits - to the consumer and to the brand, which has more chances of increasing sales. i.e. in Spain, 78% of consumers say that this indication on the label is important, due to the type of closure not always being visible outside the bottle.

In general, consumers associate screw caps with cheap wines and plastic stoppers with the notion that they are being misled. That idea is reflected in brand results. In the USA, A.C. Nielsen concluded in 2010 that the brands of wine that use cork stoppers show higher annual growth in sales and more stable prices than those which opt for the alternatives, such as aluminium caps and synthetic closures. Look at the case of the New Zealand wine, Nobilo Marlborough which in 2009 became the best-selling sauvignon blanc in the USA. Despite being produced in a country where aluminium caps rule, it adapted its packaging to focus on US consumers, sealing it with a cork stopper. This has been a key factor in sales.

In New Zealand and Australia, where artificial stoppers have been around for some time, producers are still very much connected to the use of caps, although opposing voices are starting to be heard. Ben Glaetzer, one of the most enthusiastic young Australian producers, said in regard to the top wines across the board, that «if somebody is willing to pay three or four hundred dollars, they are going to want to see a cork stopper».

The wine magazine WBM and radio ABC also recently published articles and reports alerting New Zealand winemakers to the threat the obsession with aluminium caps represents for the decrease in the value of their potential exports to China, in addition to the negative image which comes across.

The Chinese very much associate cork with the idea of added value and, although there is no market research on the matter, experts calculate that the percentage of consumers who prefer wine sealed with cork is higher than 90%. In 2011, in a project developed by Mike Convey, Director at Abbelio Wines, a Hong Kong importer and retailer, cork stoppers were the choice for 61% of respondents. The study, conducted within the scope of an MBA thesis, involved 841 wine consumers in four Chinese provinces, including Beijing and Shanghai.

More R&D, better performance

As the outcome of major investment in R&D, recent products offer an increasingly better performance, meeting producers' expectations. Therefore, it is not surprising that an increasing number of wineries are going back to cork stoppers, as was the case for example, of Rutherford, in the USA, and Cape Point and Klein Constantia, in South Africa. In this last case, the main South African winery decided to go back to using natural cork stoppers in their Perdeblokke Sauvignon Blanc, fearing that the wine would develop a sulphur taste, caused by a long period in bottles sealed with aluminium caps. At the time, Adam Mason, Klein Constantia's main winemaker, explained why he felt safer: «I never had this kind of problem while I used cork stoppers and then, after an interruption, I can see that over the past few years, their performance has improved.»

«We have gone back to using cork stoppers in quality wines. In the ten years during which we used screw caps, the quality of cork available has dramatically improved.»

Tony Bish,
Sacred Hill, New Zealand

Another example of opting for cork stoppers in South Africa is that of SPAR, one of the main national supermarket chains. In 2012, the retailer launched 27 own brands of wine with prices from 3.5 to 16 Euros, sealed with natural cork stoppers. According to the brand, the choice of cork is not only because it is believed that it combines best with their wine, but that it is also a question of sustainability. «The time has come in which closures are compared in terms of their carbon footprint. Therefore, the environmental concerns associated with the different types of closures are important for SPAR, hence our preference for natural cork stoppers», can be read in their launch brochure.

Cork stoppers are an environmental asset

In the USA and Europe, the choice for sustainable packaging is a matter of increasing importance for many consumers and retailers. In this field, no other stopper is able to compete with cork, a completely natural raw material, which is biodegradable, renewable and recyclable and requires very little energy in its manufacture - four to five times less than artificial closures.

A study conducted in 2007-2008 by PricewaterhouseCoopers analysed the life cycle of cork stoppers and assessed the possible environmental impact of three types of closure options for bottles of wine: cork stoppers, aluminium caps and plastic closures. The results were very favourable for cork stoppers: in six out of seven environmental indicators analysed, the cork stopper demonstrated that it was the most efficient, appearing in second place only in terms of water consumption.

Even without taking into account the CO2 captured by cork oak forests, greenhouse gas emissions associated with cork stoppers are 24 times lower than those recorded for aluminium closures and ten times lower than those made of plastic.

Cork stoppers are the only closure with a positive impact, not just because they have a smaller carbon footprint, but also because they contribute to capturing CO2 in the atmosphere. According to a study published in 2010 by Assolegno, the Italian association related to the forest, by consuming 15 billion bottles sealed with cork stoppers per year, it is possible to retain the pollution caused by 45,000 vehicles, i.e. an impressive 118,500 tonnes of carbon dioxide annually. If we add this data to the important role of the ecosystem of the cork oak forest in sequestrating CO2, preserving the species, combating desertification and creating jobs, there is no doubt as to the positive impact associated with the use of cork stoppers.

The cellars which use cork stoppers may reduce from between 18% to 40% of CO2 emissions from their bottles, which means that this is the best option for wine producers, distributors and retailers who aim to minimise the carbon footprint and adopt the best practices in regard to environmental performance.

Cork has made drinking wine special for hundreds of years. It is the original closure and the choice of the finest wines - 70% of the wine industry prefers cork stoppers, whether for reasons related to personal experiences, the type of wine, the production techniques or the market. Cork stoppers and wine are both products from nature and combining them is the right option. Producers who opt for cork stoppers show that their wine is superior in quality.

«We decided to change to the natural cork stopper. It is a great sealant and
the fact that it is a natural product, is one of the main reasons we came
back to cork.»

Steve Rued,
Rutherford Wine Company, USA